Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Himanta Biswa Sarma Claims BJP will Get 84 Seats in 2021 Assam Assembly Election

Assam cabinet minister and BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma on Friday said that BJP will win 84 out of the 126 seats in the 2021 Assam Vidhan Sabha elections.

Himanta Biswa Sarma Claims BJP will Get 84 Seats in 2021 Assam Assembly Election

Sentinel Digital Desk

AGARTALA: Himanta Biswa Sarma, BJP leader and Assam cabinet minister for finance; health and family welfare; transformation and development; PWD and education, on Friday claimed that BJP would secure around 84 seats against the earlier target of 100 plus in the 126 member assembly. The BJP heavyweight is extremely confident that BJP led alliance would retain power in the state.

"Our earlier target was to win in 100 plus seats. But our present assessment is that the BJP would get in and around 84 seats. We are 100 per cent certain that the BJP-led alliance would form the government in Assam after the declaration of results (on May 2)," Himanta Biswa Sarma told media during his visit to Tripura.

Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is also the convener of North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA)- an alliance of regional parties across the North-Eastern states, said, "After the Assam elections, the BJP would restart renewed attempts to come to the power in the remaining states in of the North East." The BJP is currently in power n the states of Assam, Tripura, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh while the allies of NDA (National Democratic Alliance) are in power in the remaining four states - Meghalaya, Nagaland, Mizoram, and Sikkim.

In the 2016 Assam Vidhan Sabha elections, BJP won 60 seats forming a government in alliance with its allies BOPF which secured 12 and Asom Gana Parishad secured 14 seats.

Himanta Biswa Sarma also said that BJP would win West Bengal by securing more than 200 seats and that the people of Tripura are happy with the performance of the BJP government headed by the Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb.

He also added that BJP would be elected to power in the 28-member Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council, for which elections were held in April and the results are to be declared on Saturday.

Also read- Person Above 18 Free to Choose Religion, SC Rules Out Plea Against Religious Conversions

Also watch- Bihu Workshop Organised

Next Story