Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Summer Youth Olympics

Summer  Youth Olympics

Sentinel Digital Desk

The 2018 Summer Youth Olympic Games, which is officially known as the III Summer Youth Olympic Games, is an international sports, cultural, and educational event that is hosted this year in Buenos Aires, Argentina, between 6 and 18 October 2018.

In fact, it is the first Summer Youth Olympic Games to be held outside of Asia and is commonly known as Buenos Aires 2018, and as the first Youth Games for either summer or winter to be held outside Eurasia.

For the 2018 Summer Youth Olympics, six bids were submitted for the list of Candidate Cities, with Buenos Aires selected as one among the three and the other being Glasgow and Medellín.

Who decides?

The discretionary powers or the authority is with the International Olympics Committee (IOC).

Structure of IOC and functions:

The IOC comprises of many members with the President being the head of the Executive Board. The President assumes the overall responsibility for the administration of the committee, and the management of its affairs.

The IOC Executive Board consists of the President, four Vice-Presidents and 10 other members.

The board members are elected using a secret ballot (on the basis of majority of votes) by the IOC Session. The President holds the term for 8 years, which he can renew for another 4 years, once.

Who is the current President of OIC?

Thomas Bach. He was elected as the President of the IOC on 10 September 2013, as the successor to Jacques Rogge.

He is the first Olympic medallist to occupy the position of IOC President. He had won a gold medal in the men's team foil fencing at the 1976 Summer Olympics. He is the third IOC President to have been an Olympian (Brundage and Rogge were also former Olympic athletes).

He has appointed four-time Olympic silver medalist Namibian sprinter Frank Fredericks as the Chairman of the Coordination Commission for the (3rd Summer) Youth Olympic Games - Buenos Aires 2018.

Organizing Games:

The IOC organizes the modern Olympic Games, which is held every two years, alternating summer and winter Games (each every four years).


The event has begun on 6th October, and it will continue till 18 October 2018. This year 2018 Summer Youth Olympics opening ceremony was held at the Obelisco de Buenos Aires on October 6, 2018.


The 2018 Summer Youth Olympics will feature 241 events in 32 sports.

  • Aquatics
  • Diving (5) (details)
  • Swimming (36) (details)
  • Archery (3) (details)
  • Athletics (38) (details)
  • Badminton (3) (details)
  • Basketball (4) (details)
  • Beach handball (2) (details)
  • Beach volleyball (2) (details)
  • Boxing (13) (details)
  • Canoeing (8) (details)
  • Cycling (4) (details)
  • Dancesport (3) (details)
  • Equestrian (2) (details)
  • Fencing (7) (details)
  • Field hockey (2) (details)
  • Futsal (2) (details)
  • Golf (3) (details)
  • Gymnastics (details)
  • Acrobatic gymnastics (1)
  • Artistic gymnastics (13)
  • Rhythmic gymnastics (1)
  • Trampolining (2)
  • Judo (9) (details)
  • Karate (6) (details)
  • Modern pentathlon (3) (details)
  • Roller speed skating (Inline speed skating) (details)
  • Rowing (4) (details)
  • Rugby sevens (2) (details)
  • Sailing (5) (details)
  • Shooting (6) (details)
  • Sport climbing (2) (details)
  • Table tennis (3) (details)
  • Taekwondo (10) (details)
  • Tennis (5) (details)
  • Triathlon (3) (details)
  • Weightlifting (12) (details)
  • Wrestling (15) (details)

Participating National Olympic Committees:

In a total of 206 countries are participating in the Games. Kosovo and South Sudan will make their debut in the Youth Olympics.

Next Story